Barangay II (Amianance)



Some parts of Barangay II comprises a section called Kainsikan /Kasanglayan (from Intsik, Sangley or Chinese) or kamestizoan (from mestizo or half-breed, owing to the fact that the area was, and is still is inhabited largely by Chinese merchants. Recently, this section has been referred to as the Vigan Heritage Village, and is declared as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, as it is only the remaining vestige of the Spanish colonial era of town planning in the Philippines having kept intact most of the houses built during the said period. The Kasanglayan section used to be both a residential and commercial area, however, business activity within the section was limited to light commerce in the recent decades to protect this historic center.


Barangay II is popularly known as “ Amianance” because it is the northern most district in the Mestizo River area. Its name was taken from the Iloko word “Amianan” which means north. It is bounded in the south by Barangay V, also known as Pagparian, the western part by Barangay I, on the eastern part by Mestizo River and a bridge leading to Barangay Capangpangan and on the northern part is the Quirino Blvd. leading to Bantay Ilocos Sur.


Authentic Delicacies


Tongson's Bibingka
Tongson's Bibingka

Lagasca's Turones de Mani
Lagasca's Turones de Mani


Famous Men and Women of Amianance
  • Isabelo delos Reyes  - (July 7, 1864 – October 10, 1938) also known as Don Belong, was a prominent Filipino politician and labor activist in the 19th and 20th century. He is the founder of the Aglipayan Church and a Forerunner of Filipino Socialism.

    Born to Elias de los Reyes and the poetess Leona Florentino in Vigan, Ilocos Sur, he attended schools in Vigan and Manila. He followed his mother's footsteps by initially turning to writing as a career and became a journalist, editor, and publisher in Manila.

  • Gov. Mena Crisologo - (December 11, 1844-July 5, 1927) was the first governor of Ilocos Sur and popularizer of Ilocano art and literature. He was born in Vigan, Ilocos Sur and was notario ecclesiastico of the Nueva Segovia Diocese. In 1898, he represented Ilocos Sur in the Malolos Congress and was a signatory to the Malolos Constitution. Crisologo was also part of the delegation of governors to the St. Louis Exposition of 1904. After retiring from politics, he devoted his time to writing komedya and sarswela in Ilocano.
  • Leona Florentino - (April 19, 1849-October 4, 1884) was a Filipino poet in the Spanish and Ilocano languages. She is considered as the "mother of Philippine women's literature" and the "bridge from oral to literary tradition".

    Born to a wealthy and prominent family in Vigan, Ilocos Sur, Florentino began to write her first verses in Ilocano at a young age. Despite her potential, she was not allowed to receive a university education because of her gender. Florentino was instead tutored by her mother, and then a series of private teachers. An educated Ilocano priest taught her advanced Spanish and encouraged her to develop her voice in poetry.

    Due to the feminist nature of her writings, Florentino was shunned by her husband and son, and so was forced to live alone in exile and separately from her family.

    Florentino married a politician named Elias de los Reyes at the age of 14, and they had five children, including Isabelo de los Reyes, who would later become a Filipino writer, activist and senator. She died at the age of 35.
  • Don Vicente Singson Encarnacion - One of the 7 wise men who adopted the 1939 Constitution, founder of Philippine Water work System.
  • Bishop Alfredo Verzosa - Took over as an administrator of the Diocese of Nueva Segovia as Bishop Pedro Hurts had to resign for health reason.