Brief History


Raois is bounded on the north of Taguiporo, Bantay on the East by the Abra River; on the West by Rugsuanan and on the south by Nagtupacan, Santa.


The place is located at the eastern end of the territory of Vigan exactly at the eastern end of the San Julian-Raois Road, an extension of the Liberation Boulevard in the Poblacion.


The Community is one of the progressive barangays of Vigan. Farming is the main occupation of the people. Many are college graduates and they are engaged in their own professions. Some of them are educators, engineers, accountants, agriculturist, electricians, nurses, computer technicians and commerce graduates. This place is also blessed with lawyers, doctor, priests and nuns.


Moreover, Raois is known for its meritorious accomplishments in the most of its existing organizations and clubs. It is also important to mention that Raois is not far from other places where various establishments could be found such as chapels, schools, Barangay Hall, Barangay Plaza, Rural Health Center, Rice Mills and others.


Socio-Economic Profile


Barangay Raois is one of the largest, both in area and population of the 39 barangays belonging to the Vigan City.


The biggest “National Resources” of the barangay is in the farmer because most of the owners are Agriculturists besides they are employees of the Department of Agriculture.


Due to large agricultural land area, Raois is a good place for goat rising and for planting fruit trees such as mangoes, avocadoes, guyabanoes guavas, coconuts and others; Raois is also good in planting different kinds of vegetables such as cabbages, onions, beans and others. These are all productive if we have more irrigation system, tractors as well as seedlings.




Barangay Officials
  • Punong Barangay - Roberto Valdez
  • 1st Brgy. Kagawad - Dennis V. Aveno
  • 2nd Brgy. Kagawad - Richard A. Ayunon
  • 3rd Brgy. Kagawad - Rizaldy A. Abero
  • 4th Brgy. Kagawad - Julian B. Alcartado
  • 5th Brgy. Kagawad - Clemente A. Ayunon
  • 6th Brgy. Kagawad - Eufrocina Q. Alimbuyogen
  • 7th Brgy. Kagawad - Juanito A. Ayco
  • SK Chairman - Raizel Chlo Anne Abero
  • Brgy. Secretary - Imelda A. Quibilan
  • Brgy. Treasurer - Anita S. Azares